Rat's house

The first day

I was sure that I had gone back in time. White-grey blocks followed each other one after another. 
The whole area felt like a small village, so ridiculously big that you could not see where the corporate site ended.

Imagine that you are really, really tiny. Now imagine that you are walking around on a pack of gum, the white gummy squares towering around you. Walking around in your skyscraper gummy-town, you probably would feel a little bit like I felt in that moment. We took a left turn, and after walking along the wall of a building for what felt like an eternity (but was probably just five minutes), we approached a single door and ducked inside.

It was clear that the 90’s had never left; the desks and computers had been replaced, but the decor sure hadn’t. Dark gray carpet tiles adorned the floor, interrupted by a loud, red carpet runway, as if the decorator had anticipated people losing their way in this hot mess. The mish-mash of different styles stung the eye as they led me to my desk, red partitions playing a game of 'pretend privacy.'.

The window next to my desk looked out on the street side, where the main attraction is a supermarket and its parking lot. What a million-dollar view!

I prayed that at least the coffee didn’t suck.
It did.

As far as corporate adventures go, this one has started rather underwhelming. But the customer I will work for is a multinational player in the field of medicine, so I cannot fault them for their corny furnishings. At this point, they own that look. They are the only protectors, the last stand, the Ones Who Will Not Modernize! So good on them, I guess.

So on I go, and I wish you all good luck with the start of your week!

P.S.: Shouldn’t we all just start to share our workplace decor, just to shame them a little?

Warm greetings,
Rat
…ᘛ⁐̤ᕐᐷ